" />

The Avengers: Earth's Mightiest Heroes DVD Review

In Short
Taken together, these two discs should please most comic fans...

With the popularity of super hero movies the past few years weve seen a lot of repackaging of 80s and 90s animated super hero series in an attempt to cash in on the trend. The Avengers: Earths Mightiest Heroes is a bit different, though. Yes, its a DVD package of an animated TV series, but its of far more recent vintage. Last year, in fact. But the biggest, and most important, difference is that this series wasnt made on the cheap as throwaway Saturday morning fare. The animation is generally of higher quality than is typical for these kinds of series. Dont expect Disney theatrical release quality here, but some work has gone into the backgrounds and theres not an overabundance of static scenes in which the only things moving are the characters lips. The voice acting is excellent and draws upon talent that has appeared in big name series such as Family Guy and Futurama. The series recent vintage is also apparent in the voice acting, as the actors seem to have been chosen based on their ability to mimic the vocal stylings of the actors portraying the corresponding characters in the latest live action super hero movies.

The Avengers come on two separate DVDs, which is a shame because they really do form a single package and if you buy one then you pretty much should buy the other. The first DVD, The Heroes Assemble includes the following episodes:

1. Iron Man Is Born!
2. Thor the Mighty
3. Hulk versus the World
4. Meet Captain America
5. The Man in the Ant Hill
6. Breakout: Part 1
7. Breakout: Part 2

As you can probably gather from the titles, most of these episodes are precursors in that they focus on the heroes before they come together to form The Avengers. I appreciate that the first episodes are not the obligatory origin stories rehashed for the umpteenth time, but rather adventures starring each hero that give you a glimpse into their personalities and individual styles and portray the events immediately preceding the formation of the super group. Also included is their first real adventure together, but then just as things are starting to get really interesting you reach the end of the disc and the story unless you also bought disc two

Volume 2, Captain America Reborn, includes the following episodes:

1. Some Assembly Required
2. Living Legend
3. Everything Is Wonderful
4. Panthers Quest
5. Gamma World: Part1
6. Gamma World: Part 2

In this collection, Captain America is thawed and added to the team, leading to some issues as Cap adjusts to waking up in whats the future to him and the team adjusts to him. In some ways this volume is more interesting than the first due to the team dynamics, which dont always qualify as fully functional.

Taken together, these discs should please most comic fans, and especially those with a preference for Marvel. The characters and stories are true to their source material, and the episodes have been crafted with obvious reverence for classic Marvel material. While really light on any bonuses outside of trailers and game previews, they still make an excellent addition to any comic fans DVD library.

Final Rating:

Related Games:  

Transmitted: 5/24/2018 11:23:08 PM